BRUSSELS — Responding to the detention last month of a young opposition journalist, the United States, the European Union, Britain and Canada joined forces Monday to impose further sanctions on the government of President Aleksandr G. Lukashenko of Belarus for its abuses of human rights.

“We are united in our deep concern regarding the Lukashenko regime’s continuing attacks on human rights, fundamental freedoms and international law,” the four said in a joint statement.

“We are committed to support the long-suppressed democratic aspirations of the people of Belarus, and we stand together to impose costs on the regime for its blatant disregard of international commitments,” they said.

They called on Mr. Lukashenko to release all political prisoners and “enter into a comprehensive and genuine political dialogue” with the democratic opposition and civil society.

European Union foreign ministers, meeting in Luxembourg, also…

Read more…


Comments are closed.